Author Topic: "Clouds" Texture...  (Read 1221 times)

Offline moed

• Cookies: 57
  • Star Trekus Fanaticus
"Clouds" Texture...
« on: October 18, 2021, 05:55:59 PM »
I've created in Photoshop a new clouds texture for planets in BC. Problem is, the way they''re mapped in-game are in segmented sections that I believe are 256x256. My new clouds texture is 1024x512.

Does anyone know what the name of the NanoFX HP is that controls the size/movement of those cloud mappings? I've never worked on that HP before and would like to tweak it so I can re-size those segments to the new proportions.

Thanks in advance.

Elijah

Re: "Clouds" Texture...
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2021, 08:06:20 PM »
The way nano fix creates clouds is by placing a star inside the planet, the stars atmospheric effect is what you are seeing as ‘clouds’. Doing it this way limits what you can do as changing the start bitmaps will effect all planets. The new modeling and modding tool we are making for STBC: Remaster and Enhancement Project will allow you to easily make a new planet model which can have an animated cloud layer with its own bitmap.

Here is a rough proof of concept video:

Offline moed

• Star Trekus Fanaticus
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2021, 05:40:28 PM »
So if I'm understanding you correctly, you're saying that currently, there's no way to edit the cloud bit map size?

Elijah

« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2021, 05:59:20 PM »
So if I'm understanding you correctly, you're saying that currently, there's no way to edit the cloud bit map size?

You can, you want this change to also affect every other planet and star in the current Nano way of doing things

Offline moed

• Star Trekus Fanaticus
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2021, 07:56:00 PM »
You can, you want this change to also affect every other planet and star in the current Nano way of doing things

Yes, I don't care ATM if it affects every other planet & star.