Author Topic: Double-whammy issue  (Read 769 times)

Offline ThatGuyBrian

• The Youngin'
  • Cookies: 6
Double-whammy issue
« on: January 27, 2018, 09:21:24 PM »
So...I'm fairly new to the process of BC modding. I've covered the basics (Exporting the model as a .nif, setting up hardpoints, making a plugin, etc) and I've come fairly close to finishing my first ship mod, however, I've ran into two issues when it comes to loading the custom ship into Bridge Commander. The main hull textures don't load in, and the framerate tanks hard.
I've checked the poly count for the model that I'm using, (3793) and I've messed about with all of my config settings in Milkshape, and I just can't seem to take care of these issues.
Spoiler: show

Milkshape 3D

Bridge Commander Model Property Editor

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Offline King Class Scout

• Cookies: 893
  • the other half of SFRD
Re: Double-whammy issue
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2018, 07:41:08 AM »
okay, first, welcome.  second, there's a couple things that needed to be addressed.

for the BC engine textures must be a fixed exponential factor in size...32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048 or they won't load.

it's not the POLY count you have to worry about, but the texture size.  I've run ships as high poly as 54K and they've run well.  since they're not moving parts models, they don't swipe memory.  textures, however, make the engine choke if there's a lot of high res ones.

Nifskope is a good way to check the test fit and alignment of your textures.

oh, and if your wondering...I think I'm the only modeler and texturer LEFT on here that's a little bit active.  everyone else has either moved on, or is rather busy atm raising kids.
OS novel fan

Coming Soon: King's Mod Tuning Shop

best line I've ever read
Me: mine [my bridges] would probably be simple to get the characters to use.  the only person that sits is the captian.
Baz: space is vast there[sic] legs will be tired by the time they get to the next planet