Author Topic: Space speed cameras  (Read 1685 times)

Offline limey BSc.

• JL Studios - Co-Founder
  • Cookies: 421
Space speed cameras
« on: April 21, 2010, 08:41:29 AM »
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/7608153/New-speed-cameras-trap-motorists-from-space.html

Basically, the British Government is testing new speed cameras that work from orbit. They can measure average speed over much larger areas, and not just along one road.

Now, I very really get worked up over things like this, but this one really does piss me off. The point of speed cameras in this country has always been to deter speeding, not catch speeders. The cameras are painted bright yellow, placed in obvious places, signs are placed to warn you and theres a list online somewhere that details the location of all of them. So basically, if you get caught, your a moron. This is shifting the focus to catching speeders. To me that's wrong.
I've been driving for almost 4 years now, I always speed (the national speed limit is based on the braking distance of cars from the 70s and so is not relevant anymore), but have never been caught because I actually pay attention to what I'm doing.

Driving is about to get a whole lot less fun :banghead:
MUSE!!!

Offline Senator

• Retired Staff
  • Cookies: 226
Re: Space speed cameras
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2010, 09:03:14 AM »
The way this is reported you'd think that it involved satellites with cameras.

Actually what is going on is that the cameras capture a car, and then capture a car again at some other point. Unlike the old cameras which are not aware of their location, those would be (through GPS), and then would calculate the distance/time it took to get there reaching the conclusion that even if you weren't speeding in front of them, you had to speed between them.

And yes it sucks. I just wanted to clarify the methodology.

Offline tiqhud

• BCFiles File Poster
  • Cookies: 1067
  • San Francisco Shipyards (HPer) file manuiplater