Author Topic: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise  (Read 1162 times)

Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
.wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« on: April 30, 2010, 07:30:25 PM »
Today's a good day to die... or to mod BC a bit.....BUT:

I just encountered a tiny little problem while I was trying to alter BC the way I'd like it to be... One of the torpedoes that came along with an Enterprise B-Mod won't play a launchsound, no matter what I try... The script doesn't seem to be the prob, since I tried the sound that I have choosen for it on various other projectiles. (The torp is called "Mark IV", but its scribt directs to a projectile named "DucatTMPPhot" I'm sorry mot to have the mod-authors name right now, I don't have I-net at home...so I'm sitting in an internetcafe right now...)  It's just an altered version of the "ZZST6Torp" (Only stretched it a bit to sound heavier) I used Cool Edit Pro to do so and saved in .wav-format. Somehow it still won't work. The "def getLaunchSound (and so on)" strings in the py.-file can't be the reason, I've double checked it several times now...(and yes, I deleted the .pyc before the alterations), so I assume the problem should be a wrong compression of the .wav or anything....(The original sound didn't play either before I started to alter it...)
So the question is clear: Does anybody know what I am doing wrong???
Help would be much apreciated!!!

(Sorry for possible language - mistakes....I'm german, my bad ^^ also sorry if the thread is not at the right location! And of course; sorry if this prob has already been discussed in another thread...If so: I didn't find it...my bad again...)

Tallyho!

Offline Morgan

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1340
  • Cookies: 65535
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2010, 07:38:29 PM »
Can you please post the sound, torpedo, and soundpak file? That'll help out a lot.

Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2010, 07:40:40 PM »
mkay, I'll do so, but I don't have them at hand right now, so it will have to wait untill tomorrow...

Thanks for quick response!!!

Offline ACES_HIGH

  • BCC Roleplay Game Narrator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1678
  • Cookies: 54
  • while(!(succeed=try()));
    • BCC Roleplay Games
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2010, 07:49:01 PM »
if it is saved in .wav, that's most likely your problem, I'm pretty sure BC uses .mp3 format

Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2010, 08:07:29 PM »
mmmh.... that's funny.... all the sounds in the folder are shown as .wav ... at least my Win7 tells me.... could you check that out? (I have no copy of BC here (Internetcafe), so I can't do so myself right now...)

Would be much apreciated!!! :D

Offline limey BSc.

  • JL Studios - Co-Founder
  • Posts: 1152
  • Cookies: 421
  • JL Studios - Co-Founder
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2010, 08:21:20 PM »
You need to make sure it's set to 22050Hz (bottom left if you're using Audacity).
MUSE!!!


Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2010, 08:26:30 PM »
22050....can't check that right now, but I'm pretty shure that would be it (since I have set my Cool Edit Pro to save with 44000Hz...)

Thanks!!!

I'll report back if that solved my prob!!!

Don't forget to boldly go where no man has gone before....and bring a towel :D

Offline Maxloef

  • STBC Aftermath Co Founder
  • Posts: 493
  • Cookies: 61
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2010, 04:18:55 PM »
44.000 should work aswell it just needs to be 16 bit and MONO

Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2010, 08:53:31 AM »
Well now I am confused.... I saved the .wav with 22050Hz, 16bit and mono setting...still it won't work... I tried in with 8bit and mono as well and so on (allways PCM) but no joy so far... It still won't work with any other projectile... but as well no other sound will be played for that torpedo...(I tried different sounds that work with other projectiles)

Here is the projectile... mk4.py:

###############################################################################


import App

###############################################################################
#   Create(pTorp)
#   
#   Creates a photon torpedo.
#   
#   Args:   pTorp - the torpedo, ready to be filled-in
#   
#   Return:   zero
###############################################################################
def Create(pTorp):

   kGlowColor = App.TGColorA()
   kGlowColor.SetRGBA(255.0 / 255.0, 45.0 / 255.0, 0.0, 1.000000)   
   kCoreColor = App.TGColorA()
   kCoreColor.SetRGBA(255.0 / 255.0, 252.0 / 255.0, 100.0 / 255.0, 1.000000)

   # Params are:

   pTorp.CreateTorpedoModel(
               "data/Textures/Tactical/DucatST6Core.tga",
               kCoreColor,
               0.1,
               1.0,
               "data/Textures/Tactical/DucatST6Glow.tga",
               kGlowColor,
               1.0,
               0.8,
               0.8,
               "data/Textures/Tactical/TorpedoFlares.tga",
               kGlowColor,
               20,
               1.0,
               0.2)
   pTorp.SetDamage( GetDamage() )
   pTorp.SetDamageRadiusFactor(0.13)
   pTorp.SetGuidanceLifetime( GetGuidanceLifetime() )
   pTorp.SetMaxAngularAccel( GetMaxAngularAccel() )

   # Multiplayer specific stuff.  Please, if you create a new torp
   # type. modify the SpeciesToTorp.py file to add the new type.
   import Multiplayer.SpeciesToTorp
   pTorp.SetNetType (Multiplayer.SpeciesToTorp.PHOTON)

   return(0)

def GetLaunchSpeed():
   return(23.0)

def GetLaunchSound():
   return("mk4photon")

def GetPowerCost():
   return(20.0)

def GetName():
   return("Mk IV Photon")

def GetDamage():
   return 1600.0

def GetGuidanceLifetime():
   return 30.0

def GetMaxAngularAccel():
   return 0.99

def GetLifetime():
   return 100.0



And the attachment is the .wav-file ...I had to zip it because .wav is not allowed as an attachment....

(I even tried it with audacity, but still it's not working... :hithead:)

Hope anyone can fix it, would totally make my day!

Tallyho...


Offline teleguy

  • Posts: 363
  • Cookies: 53
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2010, 11:05:51 AM »
I tested the sound file, it worked just fine. Did you create a sound plugin in scripts\custom\autoload?


Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2010, 12:39:15 PM »
Nope....is it necessary??? I wasn't aware of that.... so how do I add it there? Or is it simple enough to do without any instructions?

(Thanks for your kind help!!!)

Offline teleguy

  • Posts: 363
  • Cookies: 53
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2010, 12:41:35 PM »
The easiest way would be to use Bcut.
http://www.bcs-tng.com/portal/?q=bcut1.7.5released

Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2010, 12:54:52 PM »
Thanks teleguy...downloading now....I only hope that BCUT doesn't screw up my BC like BCMP used to... (Making a backup every five minutes is not my interpretation of fun... :D)

I'll report back tomorrow or so if I finally get the sound to work...(or not)


Offline teleguy

  • Posts: 363
  • Cookies: 53
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2010, 12:58:37 PM »
No, BCUT doesn't screw up your install. It even includes it's own backup function and a tool to repair damage by BCMP.

Offline Mario

  • Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2186
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2010, 11:27:39 PM »
Quote
Thanks teleguy...downloading now....I only hope that BCUT doesn't screw up my BC like BCMP used to... (Making a backup every five minutes is not my interpretation of fun...

If you're talking about disabling ship plugins or causing bsod's because of faulty ship plugins, then no.

What teleguy said it has an inbuilt feature which allows you to backup the most critical files and restore your game to a previous point in time if needed, much like windows system restore i.e.
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #15 on: May 03, 2010, 06:26:12 AM »
Finally....it works!!! How could I have failed to see BCMP?!?!! :banghead: That little programm will keep me busy for a while....

Thanks to all of you for yer help! :yay:


Offline 086gf

  • Location: United Socialist States of America!
  • Posts: 1357
  • Cookies: 32
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #16 on: May 03, 2010, 02:38:56 PM »
I hope you mean BCUT lol.
All hail the messiah!

Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2010, 08:36:30 AM »
ahhhhh.....wupps....of course BCUT....d'ooooooooohhhhhhh.... :hithead:

(stupid abbreviations.... :facepalm:)

Offline eclipse74569

  • Roger Smith of the U.S.S. Lollypop, a good ship
  • Webmaster
  • Posts: 2240
  • Cookies: 65535
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2010, 01:17:53 PM »
lol cookied, it's happened to the best of us :)

and welcome aboard
Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return, to obtain, something of equal value must be lost.  That is alchemy's first law of equivalent exchange.  In those days we really believed that to be the world's one and only truth~Alphonse Elric

Offline AKcrazy

  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 1
Re: .wav for Projectile won't work...please advise
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2010, 09:07:57 AM »
.....okay......now what the .... am I supposed to do with a cookie??? :idk: Sorry, stupid and off-topic question....again, but this is the first forum I joined that has cookies.... And my printer didn't produce anything eatable so far :D (Maybe I'll have to like switch polarity of...something and recompile the computer core and have my deflector to make something funny first, I don't know :idk: Maybe I'll better ask data or just push the selfdestruct button :hithead:))

(Sorry, already searched the help, but still I have no clues what cookies are for)

Anyway, THX eclipse74569 !!! :D