Author Topic: No ship name in the game; only "???"  (Read 677 times)

Offline ety3rd

  • Posts: 7
  • Cookies: 0
No ship name in the game; only "???"
« on: January 10, 2013, 03:23:51 PM »
When I downloaded a Breen mod and saw only "???" during a battle where its name should have been, I just thought the modder was trying to be funny.  Since then, I've gotten a couple of other ships that have their name listed normally in the menus but only "???" during the battle itself.

Where is the file I should edit to fix this?


(Apologies if this isn't the correct subforum.)

Offline Mario

  • Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2186
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 03:37:40 PM »
Please list the mods you have installed.
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline JB2005

  • Scripter, Lawyer, Soldier, Spy
  • Posts: 197
  • Cookies: 58
    • Captain's Orders Blog
Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2013, 04:06:38 PM »
Sounds like a TGL thing? Which Breen Mod is it?
http://captainsordersdevelopmentblog.blogspot.com/2011/12/preview-no-1.html- Captains Orders Development Blog - Last Updated 10/12/2011

Offline ety3rd

  • Posts: 7
  • Cookies: 0
Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2013, 06:01:48 PM »
The three that this happens with are this Breen ship (http://bridgecommander.filefront.com/file/Breen_BB;10054) and the two Runabouts in this pack (http://bridgecommander.filefront.com/file/Danube_Ship_Pack;23893).

Here's the Breen ship in the QB selection screen.  Note the correct name in the menu but not in the "Enemy" list:


Here's the ship in battle.  The question marks are in the target list and above the targeting reticle:


It's not a big deal.  They work just fine.  It's just an annoyance.

Offline JB2005

  • Scripter, Lawyer, Soldier, Spy
  • Posts: 197
  • Cookies: 58
    • Captain's Orders Blog
Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2013, 06:04:32 PM »
I was right, it's a TGL thing, what you need is BCUT - http://www.bcs-tng.com/portal/?q=bcsmc

Download it and use it to open up the ship plugin files then just save them, that should solve your problem!

Alternatively, find the ships' plugin files (Scripts/Custom/Ships) and find the following code:

Code: [Select]
# Uncomment these if you have TGL 
Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.hasTGLName = 1
Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.hasTGLDesc = 1

# Otherwise, uncomment this and type something in:
# Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.desc = 'No Description Available'

and change it so it reads as follows:

Code: [Select]
# Uncomment these if you have TGL 
# Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.hasTGLName = 1
# Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.hasTGLDesc = 1

# Otherwise, uncomment this and type something in:
Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.desc = 'No Description Available'

Either will work, it just depends on how confident you feel with scripts! I'd recommend the first option as it allows you to do a lot more with the plugin files!

EDIT:

It's just occurred to me that your Breen Ship isn't where the plugin automatically puts it...what's with that?
http://captainsordersdevelopmentblog.blogspot.com/2011/12/preview-no-1.html- Captains Orders Development Blog - Last Updated 10/12/2011

Offline ety3rd

  • Posts: 7
  • Cookies: 0
Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2013, 06:34:23 PM »
That did it.  Thanks.