Bridge Commander Central

BC Forums => BC Technical Support => Solved Problems => Topic started by: ety3rd on January 10, 2013, 03:23:51 PM

Title: No ship name in the game; only "???"
Post by: ety3rd on January 10, 2013, 03:23:51 PM
When I downloaded a Breen mod and saw only "???" during a battle where its name should have been, I just thought the modder was trying to be funny.  Since then, I've gotten a couple of other ships that have their name listed normally in the menus but only "???" during the battle itself.

Where is the file I should edit to fix this?


(Apologies if this isn't the correct subforum.)
Title: Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
Post by: Mario on January 10, 2013, 03:37:40 PM
Please list the mods you have installed.
Title: Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
Post by: JB2005 on January 10, 2013, 04:06:38 PM
Sounds like a TGL thing? Which Breen Mod is it?
Title: Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
Post by: ety3rd on January 10, 2013, 06:01:48 PM
The three that this happens with are this Breen ship (http://bridgecommander.filefront.com/file/Breen_BB;10054 (http://bridgecommander.filefront.com/file/Breen_BB;10054)) and the two Runabouts in this pack (http://bridgecommander.filefront.com/file/Danube_Ship_Pack;23893 (http://bridgecommander.filefront.com/file/Danube_Ship_Pack;23893)).

Here's the Breen ship in the QB selection screen.  Note the correct name in the menu but not in the "Enemy" list:
(http://i.imgur.com/FFngr.jpg)

Here's the ship in battle.  The question marks are in the target list and above the targeting reticle:
(http://i.imgur.com/0gL1P.jpg)

It's not a big deal.  They work just fine.  It's just an annoyance.
Title: Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
Post by: JB2005 on January 10, 2013, 06:04:32 PM
I was right, it's a TGL thing, what you need is BCUT - http://www.bcs-tng.com/portal/?q=bcsmc

Download it and use it to open up the ship plugin files then just save them, that should solve your problem!

Alternatively, find the ships' plugin files (Scripts/Custom/Ships) and find the following code:

Code: [Select]
# Uncomment these if you have TGL 
Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.hasTGLName = 1
Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.hasTGLDesc = 1

# Otherwise, uncomment this and type something in:
# Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.desc = 'No Description Available'

and change it so it reads as follows:

Code: [Select]
# Uncomment these if you have TGL 
# Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.hasTGLName = 1
# Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.hasTGLDesc = 1

# Otherwise, uncomment this and type something in:
Foundation.ShipDef.BreenBB.desc = 'No Description Available'

Either will work, it just depends on how confident you feel with scripts! I'd recommend the first option as it allows you to do a lot more with the plugin files!

EDIT:

It's just occurred to me that your Breen Ship isn't where the plugin automatically puts it...what's with that?
Title: Re: No ship name in the game; only "???"
Post by: ety3rd on January 10, 2013, 06:34:23 PM
That did it.  Thanks.