Bridge Commander Central

BC Forums => BC General => Topic started by: A.Q. on January 24, 2019, 06:10:47 PM

Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: A.Q. on January 24, 2019, 06:10:47 PM
I just used Notepad ++ to edit the height / width values so that the BC Config file looks thus:

[Graphics Options]
Texture Detail|2
Number of Lights|8
MipMaps|1
Display Depth|16
Display Height|900
LOD Skip|0
Visible Damage|3
Display Device=Direct3D T&L HAL on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Display Width|1600
Fullscreen Mode|1
Effect Detail|3


Secondly, I copied the LCARS_1600_900.py file over from my KM install (scripts/icons) into the Maelstrom SP install (scripts/icons), and it seems to work (not 100% perfectly, however, but the game looks far better than the stock resolutions allow, obviously)

Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: A.Q. on January 25, 2019, 03:11:12 AM
Good news everyone, I have BC running at 1920x1080


Kudos to the people here:       https://forums.nexusmods.com/index.php?/topic/6525946-playing-stbc-in-high-resolution-widescreen-in-windows-10/       on solving this problem some time ago lol




In summary (and please remember to backup your files):



Edit the config.cfg in your BC folder so that it displays this:

[Graphics Options]
Texture Detail|2
Number of Lights|8
MipMaps|1
Display Depth|16
Display Height|1080
LOD Skip|0
Visible Damage|3
Display Device=Direct3D T&L HAL on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Display Width|1920
Fullscreen Mode|1
Effect Detail|3


Save

Then, go to your scripts/tactical/interface folder and open up the WeaponsDisplay.py file
Copy the following values into the first section



dTORP_X_BIAS      = {   
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  1920:   3
                 }
dTORP_Y_BIAS      = {
                  640:   -7,
                  800:   -7,
                  1024:   -7,
                  1280:   -7,
                  1366:   -7,
                  1600:   -7,
                  1920:   -7
                 }
dPHASER_X_BIAS      = {
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  1920:   3
                 }
dPHASER_Y_BIAS      = {
                  640:   -8,
                  800:   -8,
                  1024:   -8,
                  1280:   -8,
                  1366:   -8,
                  1600:   -8,
                  1920:   -8
                 }



Save, and then go to your scripts/icons folder and open the LCARS_640.py


Find the lines
Screen_Pixel_Width =  xxxx
Screen_Pixel_height = xxxx

and change the values so that it looks thus:

SCREEN_PIXEL_WIDTH      = 1920.0
SCREEN_PIXEL_HEIGHT      =  1080.0


then, at lines 155 or so you want to find:

Power_Gauge_Width = xxxx
Power_Gauge_Height = xxxx

Change these values so they are thus:

POWER_GAUGE_WIDTH = 53.0 / 1920.0
POWER_GAUGE_HEIGHT = 125.0 / 1080.0


Save, and boot up BC and it should work. Well, I hope it works for everyone
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: King Class Scout on January 25, 2019, 06:15:39 AM
welcome, and congrats on the major cookie count already, A.Q.

what about those of us that are still on Internals?  I'm getting decent performance out a more modern stock comp (can't afford a build your own, here), and would like the smaller sized HUD so I can eyeball all those pretty ships while I'm shooting them.  I'm on a 1440 by 900 capable monitor that chokes and protests if I use fullscreen for BC.  lemmie know what info you need.
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: A.Q. on January 25, 2019, 06:23:50 AM
That would be most likely require a renaming of one of the other LCARS files in scripts/icons... but not just that, you'd have to adjust the alignments of the HUD elements so that they don't sit in funny places on the screen.

Tbh, I'm not quite sure how you would go about such a thing, I shall look into it
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: King Class Scout on January 25, 2019, 07:00:41 PM
it's hit me that I should clarify something.  my graphics refuses to run BC over 1024, despite the fact that 1280 (or so) is an available resolution.  and when I try to run fullscreen at ANY resolution, the monitor tries to reset the whole thing back to 1440, not windows itself :P
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: A.Q. on January 25, 2019, 07:24:58 PM
Sounds like you're trying to run BC at a resolution it cannot run natively without the relevant script files


I would suggest doing the steps I highlighted above for 1920x1080, but changing it to a smaller resolution like 1440x900

In which case, you would have to adjust the values listed above to reflect that

For instance:

dTORP_X_BIAS      = {   
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  1440:   3


and so on and so forth


Be sure to back up your files in case this doesn't work though
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: JimmyB76 on January 25, 2019, 07:51:01 PM
i wonder if it is possible to go even higher than 1920x1080?
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: A.Q. on January 25, 2019, 10:26:35 PM
If I had a larger monitor size, I'd try it, but theoretically it should be possible

You'd simply have to use the steps above for 1920x1080 and use the higher values, like so:


dTORP_X_BIAS      = {   
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  2560:   3


for 2560x1440



or

dTORP_X_BIAS      = {   
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  3840:   3

for 4K
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: King Class Scout on January 26, 2019, 05:44:56 AM
hmm...for me, lcars_640 (and the other scripts in that vein) are all locked up in PYC (compiled) form.  the config.ini went out the window some time ago with an old BSOD fix routine one of the older scripters can tell you about.  I forget what it was for, but it was related to a crashing problem we all had early on.
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: A.Q. on January 26, 2019, 06:46:44 PM
hmm...for me, lcars_640 (and the other scripts in that vein) are all locked up in PYC (compiled) form.  the config.ini went out the window some time ago with an old BSOD fix routine one of the older scripters can tell you about.  I forget what it was for, but it was related to a crashing problem we all had early on.


If you download the KM mod, you should be able to get the decompiled .py scripts necessary, even if you install it into a vacant directory; also, the config.ini should automatically be generated whenever BC is booted up. It's an essential component
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: FekLeyr Targ on January 27, 2019, 03:28:27 AM

If you download the KM mod, you should be able to get the decompiled .py scripts necessary, even if you install it into a vacant directory; also, the config.ini should automatically be generated whenever BC is booted up. It's an essential component

The uncompiled .py files are also part of the official SDK.
Also, I think config.ini is actually options.cfg.
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: A.Q. on January 27, 2019, 04:13:58 AM
The uncompiled .py files are also part of the official SDK.
Also, I think config.ini is actually options.cfg.

Correct on both counts
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: King Class Scout on January 27, 2019, 04:19:35 AM
the minute I saw nothing but PYC's, I automatically went after the SDK to check the original (i saved everything, being the only remaining member of a mod team).  and no, my KM's did not contain an uncompiled copy of the scripts.

and, yes, it's actually "options.cfg"
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: A.Q. on December 24, 2019, 12:10:41 AM
Just an update here:

I recently got a 2560x1440 monitor, and adjusted the above steps to try and get BC to run at those resolutions, but ran into trouble. Thankfully, my secondary screen is still 1080, so I can still play the game, but 1440 requires additional tweaking.

I shall update this thread if I have any success
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: AdmiralChocolate on August 22, 2020, 07:09:25 PM
Made all the modifications from post #3, doesn't work.  I get a D3D Render error and the game crashes.

Does this not work on Windows 10?

Do you have to convert the *.py file to *.pyc?  I have Python 2.7 installed on my PC, so I could probably do that, just 100% sure how.
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: vonfrank on August 24, 2020, 05:37:07 PM
Made all the modifications from post #3, doesn't work.  I get a D3D Render error and the game crashes.

Does this not work on Windows 10?

Do you have to convert the *.py file to *.pyc?  I have Python 2.7 installed on my PC, so I could probably do that, just 100% sure how.

Testing I've done on resolution modding led me to the conclusion that the game cannot handle a pixel length or width greater than 2048. Therefore, a 2560x1440 resolution can only be output to 2048x1440. Try those values and see if that works. It did for me.
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: AdmiralChocolate on August 24, 2020, 05:43:19 PM
I wasn't trying that, I was trying to just get 1920x1080.  No dice - D3D render error.

Your Remastered mod does at least get the game running in a 1920x1080 window, but as I stated in the other thread, mouse doesn't work.

FWIW, when I've tried Kobiyashi Maru mod, similar problems.  If I try to run fullscreen above 800x600 rez, I get a zoomed-in-upper-left-corner effect; mouse doesn't work at all (no cursor visible, completely out of control if I try moving camera/looking around on bridge).

To clarify: the only time the mouse works normally is if I run stock, patched BC fullscreen @ 800x600 or 640x480.  But, it looks terrible of course.
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: Mario on August 25, 2020, 07:31:18 AM
Quote
Testing I've done on resolution modding led me to the conclusion that the game cannot handle a pixel length or width greater than 2048. Therefore, a 2560x1440 resolution can only be output to 2048x1440. Try those values and see if that works. It did for me.
That's a DX7 limitation.

@all
Maybe try using DXWnd? http://www.bc-central.net/forums/index.php/topic,10699.msg221583.html#msg221583
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: moed on August 25, 2020, 01:09:22 PM
I tried the change resolution fix/method as well and also didn't work for me.
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: AdmiralChocolate on August 25, 2020, 02:07:47 PM
Interestingly, I can run stock BC 1.1 at 1280x720 fullscreen, no prob. All I have to do is edit the config file.

This is the same aspect ratio as my (2560x1440) display, at 16:9, but it does look a bit blocky. Should have no distortion, though I've yet to verify. Given original game was made only with 4:3 AR in mind I'd be shocked if it did in fact display trouble-free at even 1280x720.
 
I'll have to try that with the BC Remastered mod.

update: yeah, no free lunch.  The lower-right displays are a bit messed up - ship diagrams are a little displaced offscreen.
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: Haxxor1337 on August 30, 2020, 06:49:10 PM
Interestingly, I can run stock BC 1.1 at 1280x720 fullscreen, no prob. All I have to do is edit the config file.

This is the same aspect ratio as my (2560x1440) display, at 16:9, but it does look a bit blocky. Should have no distortion, though I've yet to verify. Given original game was made only with 4:3 AR in mind I'd be shocked if it did in fact display trouble-free at even 1280x720.
 
I'll have to try that with the BC Remastered mod.

update: yeah, no free lunch.  The lower-right displays are a bit messed up - ship diagrams are a little displaced offscreen.
:hi:

Can u post a Screenshot :) ???
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: AdmiralChocolate on August 31, 2020, 07:18:10 PM
(https://i.imgur.com/oioUIF0.jpg)

There you go.

To be clear, this is from running BC 1.1 fullscreen, unmodified other than 1280x720 not being one of the normal resolution choices (had to edit options.cfg file).

I can only run fullscreen.  If I run in a window, I have no mouse cursor, so it's hard to use the menus and impossible to manually target weapons in-game.
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: Haxxor1337 on September 02, 2020, 02:23:46 AM
I wasn't trying that, I was trying to just get 1920x1080.  No dice - D3D render error.

Your Remastered mod does at least get the game running in a 1920x1080 window, but as I stated in the other thread, mouse doesn't work.

FWIW, when I've tried Kobiyashi Maru mod, similar problems.  If I try to run fullscreen above 800x600 rez, I get a zoomed-in-upper-left-corner effect; mouse doesn't work at all (no cursor visible, completely out of control if I try moving camera/looking around on bridge).

To clarify: the only time the mouse works normally is if I run stock, patched BC fullscreen @ 800x600 or 640x480.  But, it looks terrible of course.

 :hi:
Use this config for ur Remastered mod and....

what is ur Resolution in Windows settings?
Title: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: AdmiralChocolate on September 02, 2020, 07:21:17 PM
Nope, doesn't work.  Still no mouse, so I can't play the game.

Tried it in fullscreen just for fun.  Same result.

You're asking my Windows desktop resolution?  I have 3 monitors, one 2560x1440, the other 1920x1080, the last an HDTV (1920x1080 also).
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: Haxxor1337 on September 03, 2020, 01:50:16 AM
 :hi:

HDTV?
Ok, my friend have the same Problems because he play on a TV with a resolution more then HD.
He can play BC on 800x600, 1024x800 and the highest is 1400x900.
We test it and the Problem we found out was the low Hz of TV.

"Test"
1. Unplug the cables from all Montior/TV
2. Use only 1 "Monitor" (Full HD)
3. Set your Resolution in Windows to 1920x1080
4. Start BC and set Windowed Mode ON
5. Test the Stock Resolutions
640x480
800x600
1024x768
1280x1024

Make report about errors

6. Same step like 5. but in Fullscreen Mode

Which Graphiccard do u use?
ATI or GeForce and is your Driver up to date
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: AdmiralChocolate on September 04, 2020, 09:52:14 AM
No, I'm not trying to play on the HDTV.  I usually keep it turned off.  Still, it's part of my setup.

The 2560x1440 display is my main one, so I prefer to use it to play games.

Nvidia card (GTX 970), 452.06 driver (latest one).
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: AdmiralChocolate on September 04, 2020, 10:03:08 AM
Nope, no dice.

If I disconnect the other 2 monitors (only using the 2560x1440 native one that's in front of me), same result.

No mouse pointer, so I can't play the game.

Also, the game locks up if I try to do anything (start a quick battle, adjust settings, etc.).

Same deal, fullscreen or windowed mode.

Even if my Windows desktop is 1920x1080, and the game is supposed to be running at 1920x1080, the game window looks zoomed in to the upper left, so the right and bottom-most menu items are cut off.
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: Haxxor1337 on September 05, 2020, 03:26:26 AM
Nope, no dice.

If I disconnect the other 2 monitors (only using the 2560x1440 native one that's in front of me), same result.

No mouse pointer, so I can't play the game.

Also, the game locks up if I try to do anything (start a quick battle, adjust settings, etc.).

Same deal, fullscreen or windowed mode.

Even if my Windows desktop is 1920x1080, and the game is supposed to be running at 1920x1080, the game window looks zoomed in to the upper left, so the right and bottom-most menu items are cut off.

Im sorry but i think this is a Nvidia problem.
Anyone a idea?
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: Mario on September 07, 2020, 09:40:27 AM
Try running the game via DXWnd.
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: yochenhsieh on September 09, 2020, 09:19:24 AM
Is there solution to fix aspect ratio of bridge view?

All these seems for space view only, but bridge view is stretched. I mostly play in bridge view....
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: vonfrank on September 09, 2020, 01:57:31 PM
Is there solution to fix aspect ratio of bridge view?

All these seems for space view only, but bridge view is stretched. I mostly play in bridge view....

To my knowledge, no. But thinking about it, it should be possible.

The viewscreen on all bridges is a separate model form the actual bridge set itself. Somehow that model must have scripting which determines the aspect ratio of what is being shown on it.

Looking through the scripts right now. Haven't found it yet.
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: AdmiralChocolate on September 09, 2020, 07:18:08 PM
DXWnd did not work.

I used the profile for Bridge Commander, but same problems.

Are there special settings I need to use?
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: yochenhsieh on September 09, 2020, 07:58:42 PM
To my knowledge, no. But thinking about it, it should be possible.

The viewscreen on all bridges is a separate model form the actual bridge set itself. Somehow that model must have scripting which determines the aspect ratio of what is being shown on it.

Looking through the scripts right now. Haven't found it yet.
Thank you. I, too, can't find the solution yet. I choose to play in 1280x768 so that the bridge aspect isn't stretched too much and looks better for me.
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: vonfrank on September 10, 2020, 01:39:28 AM
Thank you. I, too, can't find the solution yet. I choose to play in 1280x768 so that the bridge aspect isn't stretched too much and looks better for me.

Out of curiosity, why do you chose to play in the bridge view? I've always found it very boring, sitting there giving orders as opposed to maneuvering the ship and firing weapons myself.
That and Felix's AI typically gets the ship blown up far to easily for my liking...
Title: Re: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
Post by: Mario on September 22, 2020, 01:31:10 PM
DXWnd did not work.

I used the profile for Bridge Commander, but same problems.

Are there special settings I need to use?

I posted my settings here: http://www.bc-central.net/forums/index.php/topic,10699.msg221583.html#msg221583

As well disable full screen optimizations for stbc.exe.

Out of curiosity, why do you chose to play in the bridge view? I've always found it very boring, sitting there giving orders as opposed to maneuvering the ship and firing weapons myself.
That and Felix's AI typically gets the ship blown up far to easily for my liking...

Maybe about wanting to feel like a real captain giving orders only?