Author Topic: Updating BC  (Read 5539 times)

Offline JimmyB76

• Cookies: 421
Updating BC
« on: April 01, 2018, 10:24:22 AM »
ugh i wish we could just break into the exe and mod from there...  sigh

Offline Tethys

• -=USF=- Co-Leader
  • Cookies: 89
Re: Updating BC
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2018, 10:48:59 AM »
Jimmy, the guys over at Armada Fleet Command (of which I was a admin during 2009-2011) have done just that with the game Birth of the Federation. Company went out of business and the source code completely vanished. Only way to mod the game was to use IDA Pro for disassembly and HxD to tediously hex edit code. Assembly editing is crap and always creates bugs, but I doubt BC source code is around anymore, so I think that's the only way to do it.

Perhaps a patch can be created so the exe doesn't have to be directly edited? I'm not sure. Regardless, at least some disassembly is probably also required for that.

Offline FekLeyr Targ

• DS9FX Team
  • Cookies: 537
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2018, 04:28:33 PM »
"Wing Commander Prophecy Unlimited" and the "X-Wing Alliance Upgrade Project" use DLL-hooks to extend modability of these games.

https://www.wcnews.com/chatzone/threads/wing-commander-prophecy-unlimited.28146/
http://www.xwaupgrade.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11772

(If that info raises legal concerns, please feel free to remove this post.)
TaH pagh, Tah be.

Offline Tethys

• -=USF=- Co-Leader
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2018, 04:45:49 PM »
There was a guy at AFC also by the name of Flocke who used DLL hooks to completely replace the ship combat engine for BotF, and that game was published back in 1999 so it was developed 97/98 using Falcon 4 engine. Very good quality for its time.

Offline JimmyB76

• Cookies: 421
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2018, 08:23:28 AM »
let's do that dammit!

Offline Morgan

• Cookies: 65535
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2018, 10:32:36 AM »
let's do that dammit!