Author Topic: Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install  (Read 2590 times)

Offline A.Q.

  • Posts: 23
  • Cookies: 35
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« on: January 24, 2019, 06:10:47 PM »
I just used Notepad ++ to edit the height / width values so that the BC Config file looks thus:

[Graphics Options]
Texture Detail|2
Number of Lights|8
MipMaps|1
Display Depth|16
Display Height|900
LOD Skip|0
Visible Damage|3
Display Device=Direct3D T&L HAL on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Display Width|1600
Fullscreen Mode|1
Effect Detail|3


Secondly, I copied the LCARS_1600_900.py file over from my KM install (scripts/icons) into the Maelstrom SP install (scripts/icons), and it seems to work (not 100% perfectly, however, but the game looks far better than the stock resolutions allow, obviously)


Offline A.Q.

  • Posts: 23
  • Cookies: 35
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2019, 03:11:12 AM »
Good news everyone, I have BC running at 1920x1080


Kudos to the people here:       https://forums.nexusmods.com/index.php?/topic/6525946-playing-stbc-in-high-resolution-widescreen-in-windows-10/       on solving this problem some time ago lol




In summary (and please remember to backup your files):



Edit the config.cfg in your BC folder so that it displays this:

[Graphics Options]
Texture Detail|2
Number of Lights|8
MipMaps|1
Display Depth|16
Display Height|1080
LOD Skip|0
Visible Damage|3
Display Device=Direct3D T&L HAL on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Display Width|1920
Fullscreen Mode|1
Effect Detail|3


Save

Then, go to your scripts/tactical/interface folder and open up the WeaponsDisplay.py file
Copy the following values into the first section



dTORP_X_BIAS      = {   
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  1920:   3
                 }
dTORP_Y_BIAS      = {
                  640:   -7,
                  800:   -7,
                  1024:   -7,
                  1280:   -7,
                  1366:   -7,
                  1600:   -7,
                  1920:   -7
                 }
dPHASER_X_BIAS      = {
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  1920:   3
                 }
dPHASER_Y_BIAS      = {
                  640:   -8,
                  800:   -8,
                  1024:   -8,
                  1280:   -8,
                  1366:   -8,
                  1600:   -8,
                  1920:   -8
                 }



Save, and then go to your scripts/icons folder and open the LCARS_640.py


Find the lines
Screen_Pixel_Width =  xxxx
Screen_Pixel_height = xxxx

and change the values so that it looks thus:

SCREEN_PIXEL_WIDTH      = 1920.0
SCREEN_PIXEL_HEIGHT      =  1080.0


then, at lines 155 or so you want to find:

Power_Gauge_Width = xxxx
Power_Gauge_Height = xxxx

Change these values so they are thus:

POWER_GAUGE_WIDTH = 53.0 / 1920.0
POWER_GAUGE_HEIGHT = 125.0 / 1080.0


Save, and boot up BC and it should work. Well, I hope it works for everyone

Offline King Class Scout

  • Posts: 1775
  • Cookies: 893
  • the other half of SFRD
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2019, 06:15:39 AM »
welcome, and congrats on the major cookie count already, A.Q.

what about those of us that are still on Internals?  I'm getting decent performance out a more modern stock comp (can't afford a build your own, here), and would like the smaller sized HUD so I can eyeball all those pretty ships while I'm shooting them.  I'm on a 1440 by 900 capable monitor that chokes and protests if I use fullscreen for BC.  lemmie know what info you need.
OS novel fan

Coming Soon: King's Mod Tuning Shop

best line I've ever read
Me: mine [my bridges] would probably be simple to get the characters to use.  the only person that sits is the captian.
Baz: space is vast there[sic] legs will be tired by the time they get to the next planet

Offline A.Q.

  • Posts: 23
  • Cookies: 35
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2019, 06:23:50 AM »
That would be most likely require a renaming of one of the other LCARS files in scripts/icons... but not just that, you'd have to adjust the alignments of the HUD elements so that they don't sit in funny places on the screen.

Tbh, I'm not quite sure how you would go about such a thing, I shall look into it

Offline King Class Scout

  • Posts: 1775
  • Cookies: 893
  • the other half of SFRD
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2019, 07:00:41 PM »
it's hit me that I should clarify something.  my graphics refuses to run BC over 1024, despite the fact that 1280 (or so) is an available resolution.  and when I try to run fullscreen at ANY resolution, the monitor tries to reset the whole thing back to 1440, not windows itself :P
OS novel fan

Coming Soon: King's Mod Tuning Shop

best line I've ever read
Me: mine [my bridges] would probably be simple to get the characters to use.  the only person that sits is the captian.
Baz: space is vast there[sic] legs will be tired by the time they get to the next planet

Offline A.Q.

  • Posts: 23
  • Cookies: 35
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2019, 07:24:58 PM »
Sounds like you're trying to run BC at a resolution it cannot run natively without the relevant script files


I would suggest doing the steps I highlighted above for 1920x1080, but changing it to a smaller resolution like 1440x900

In which case, you would have to adjust the values listed above to reflect that

For instance:

dTORP_X_BIAS      = {   
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  1440:   3


and so on and so forth


Be sure to back up your files in case this doesn't work though

Offline JimmyB76

  • Posts: 6423
  • Cookies: 421
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2019, 07:51:01 PM »
i wonder if it is possible to go even higher than 1920x1080?

Offline A.Q.

  • Posts: 23
  • Cookies: 35
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2019, 10:26:35 PM »
If I had a larger monitor size, I'd try it, but theoretically it should be possible

You'd simply have to use the steps above for 1920x1080 and use the higher values, like so:


dTORP_X_BIAS      = {   
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  2560:   3


for 2560x1440



or

dTORP_X_BIAS      = {   
                  640:   1,
                  800:   1,
                  1024:   2,
                  1280:   3,
                  1366:   3,
                  1600:   3,
                  3840:   3

for 4K

Offline King Class Scout

  • Posts: 1775
  • Cookies: 893
  • the other half of SFRD
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2019, 05:44:56 AM »
hmm...for me, lcars_640 (and the other scripts in that vein) are all locked up in PYC (compiled) form.  the config.ini went out the window some time ago with an old BSOD fix routine one of the older scripters can tell you about.  I forget what it was for, but it was related to a crashing problem we all had early on.
OS novel fan

Coming Soon: King's Mod Tuning Shop

best line I've ever read
Me: mine [my bridges] would probably be simple to get the characters to use.  the only person that sits is the captian.
Baz: space is vast there[sic] legs will be tired by the time they get to the next planet

Offline A.Q.

  • Posts: 23
  • Cookies: 35
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2019, 06:46:44 PM »
hmm...for me, lcars_640 (and the other scripts in that vein) are all locked up in PYC (compiled) form.  the config.ini went out the window some time ago with an old BSOD fix routine one of the older scripters can tell you about.  I forget what it was for, but it was related to a crashing problem we all had early on.


If you download the KM mod, you should be able to get the decompiled .py scripts necessary, even if you install it into a vacant directory; also, the config.ini should automatically be generated whenever BC is booted up. It's an essential component

Offline FekLeyr Targ

  • DS9FX Team
  • Posts: 490
  • Cookies: 537
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2019, 03:28:27 AM »

If you download the KM mod, you should be able to get the decompiled .py scripts necessary, even if you install it into a vacant directory; also, the config.ini should automatically be generated whenever BC is booted up. It's an essential component

The uncompiled .py files are also part of the official SDK.
Also, I think config.ini is actually options.cfg.
TaH pagh, Tah be.

Offline A.Q.

  • Posts: 23
  • Cookies: 35
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2019, 04:13:58 AM »
The uncompiled .py files are also part of the official SDK.
Also, I think config.ini is actually options.cfg.

Correct on both counts

Offline King Class Scout

  • Posts: 1775
  • Cookies: 893
  • the other half of SFRD
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #12 on: January 27, 2019, 04:19:35 AM »
the minute I saw nothing but PYC's, I automatically went after the SDK to check the original (i saved everything, being the only remaining member of a mod team).  and no, my KM's did not contain an uncompiled copy of the scripts.

and, yes, it's actually "options.cfg"
OS novel fan

Coming Soon: King's Mod Tuning Shop

best line I've ever read
Me: mine [my bridges] would probably be simple to get the characters to use.  the only person that sits is the captian.
Baz: space is vast there[sic] legs will be tired by the time they get to the next planet

Offline A.Q.

  • Posts: 23
  • Cookies: 35
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2019, 12:10:41 AM »
Just an update here:

I recently got a 2560x1440 monitor, and adjusted the above steps to try and get BC to run at those resolutions, but ran into trouble. Thankfully, my secondary screen is still 1080, so I can still play the game, but 1440 requires additional tweaking.

I shall update this thread if I have any success

Offline AdmiralChocolate

  • Posts: 13
  • Cookies: 0
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #14 on: August 22, 2020, 07:09:25 PM »
Made all the modifications from post #3, doesn't work.  I get a D3D Render error and the game crashes.

Does this not work on Windows 10?

Do you have to convert the *.py file to *.pyc?  I have Python 2.7 installed on my PC, so I could probably do that, just 100% sure how.

Offline vonfrank

  • Posts: 447
  • Cookies: 182
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2020, 05:37:07 PM »
Made all the modifications from post #3, doesn't work.  I get a D3D Render error and the game crashes.

Does this not work on Windows 10?

Do you have to convert the *.py file to *.pyc?  I have Python 2.7 installed on my PC, so I could probably do that, just 100% sure how.

Testing I've done on resolution modding led me to the conclusion that the game cannot handle a pixel length or width greater than 2048. Therefore, a 2560x1440 resolution can only be output to 2048x1440. Try those values and see if that works. It did for me.

Offline AdmiralChocolate

  • Posts: 13
  • Cookies: 0
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2020, 05:43:19 PM »
I wasn't trying that, I was trying to just get 1920x1080.  No dice - D3D render error.

Your Remastered mod does at least get the game running in a 1920x1080 window, but as I stated in the other thread, mouse doesn't work.

FWIW, when I've tried Kobiyashi Maru mod, similar problems.  If I try to run fullscreen above 800x600 rez, I get a zoomed-in-upper-left-corner effect; mouse doesn't work at all (no cursor visible, completely out of control if I try moving camera/looking around on bridge).

To clarify: the only time the mouse works normally is if I run stock, patched BC fullscreen @ 800x600 or 640x480.  But, it looks terrible of course.

Offline Mario

  • Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2186
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2020, 07:31:18 AM »
Quote
Testing I've done on resolution modding led me to the conclusion that the game cannot handle a pixel length or width greater than 2048. Therefore, a 2560x1440 resolution can only be output to 2048x1440. Try those values and see if that works. It did for me.
That's a DX7 limitation.

@all
Maybe try using DXWnd? http://www.bc-central.net/forums/index.php/topic,10699.msg221583.html#msg221583
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline moed

  • Posts: 1472
  • Cookies: 57
  • Star Trekus Fanaticus
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2020, 01:09:22 PM »
I tried the change resolution fix/method as well and also didn't work for me.

Offline AdmiralChocolate

  • Posts: 13
  • Cookies: 0
Widescreen Resolutions for a non-KM install
« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2020, 02:07:47 PM »
Interestingly, I can run stock BC 1.1 at 1280x720 fullscreen, no prob. All I have to do is edit the config file.

This is the same aspect ratio as my (2560x1440) display, at 16:9, but it does look a bit blocky. Should have no distortion, though I've yet to verify. Given original game was made only with 4:3 AR in mind I'd be shocked if it did in fact display trouble-free at even 1280x720.
 
I'll have to try that with the BC Remastered mod.

update: yeah, no free lunch.  The lower-right displays are a bit messed up - ship diagrams are a little displaced offscreen.