Author Topic: Help with editing ship.  (Read 1245 times)

Offline Tng_Fan

• Cookies: 0
Help with editing ship.
« on: March 29, 2020, 02:48:05 PM »
So I am new to editing ships and am trying to edit the shields and weapons for the Sovereign using MPE. I think I was able to figure out what I need to do but still had a few questions. When I went to open the ship model there were multiple files for the Sovereign such as high low medium and not sure which was the correct one but just opened the one that said Sovereign.nif. Is this the correct one I need to edit?

Also after editing the properties I wanted, I went to save the changes and it was going to save it as a .py file instead of a .pyc does this mean I delete the original Sovereign.pyc file so I just have the Sovereign.py file or do I keep both?

Thanks for the help

Offline Mario

• Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Re: Help with editing ship.
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2020, 05:06:05 PM »
So I am new to editing ships and am trying to edit the shields and weapons for the Sovereign using MPE. I think I was able to figure out what I need to do but still had a few questions. When I went to open the ship model there were multiple files for the Sovereign such as high low medium and not sure which was the correct one but just opened the one that said Sovereign.nif. Is this the correct one I need to edit?

Chosen nif is correct.

Also after editing the properties I wanted, I went to save the changes and it was going to save it as a .py file instead of a .pyc does this mean I delete the original Sovereign.pyc file so I just have the Sovereign.py file or do I keep both?

Save as py. Game will compile this py into pyc once you run it again and overwrite the old one.
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline Tng_Fan

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2020, 06:32:22 PM »
Chosen nif is correct.

Save as py. Game will compile this py into pyc once you run it again and overwrite the old one.