Author Topic: Host of DS9fx problems  (Read 772 times)

Offline zgok

  • Posts: 90
  • Cookies: 3
Host of DS9fx problems
« on: April 24, 2012, 10:32:51 PM »
Hello, i recently ran into a series of issues with DS9fx, the first and most frustrating is that when i do the ds9fx mission "distress call", as as soon as i reach the gamma quadrant, i try to warp to Gaia (where i need to go for the mission) and instead i warp to the idran system, or whatever system i managed to be in. The missions that have me going to the Founder's homeworld have that same problem. I did console report, and this is the error it gives me Exception Attribute Error: 'thisown' in <method WarpEvent._ _del_ _ of WarpEvent Instance at 10d8ed50> ignored. The second issue, although not game-breaking, is that the enemy Jem'hadar attack ships now have the stock KM Galor's icon instead of the proper one, it is really ruining the immersion. When fight them in quick battle, or add them with the "add ship" option they have their correct icons, just the Jem'hadar attack ships that show in the DS9fx missions are the ones with the wrong icon. Also, i replaced KM's Jem'hadar attack ship with the one from the Aftermath:Tales of the Dominion pack.
 i am using the latest KM install with many additional ship mods. Any help would be appreciated.

Offline Mario

  • Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2186
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 05:43:48 AM »
This is the first time I've heard about these errors. The error you see is caused by Galaxy Charts who used to tell people to simply ignore it.

Since you are using the latest KM, I need to grab a copy of it and see for myself if indeed there are some issues. However regarding the stock icon, I'd say you've not replaced the ship properly.
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline zgok

  • Posts: 90
  • Cookies: 3
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 07:09:24 PM »
This is the first time I've heard about these errors. The error you see is caused by Galaxy Charts who used to tell people to simply ignore it.

Since you are using the latest KM, I need to grab a copy of it and see for myself if indeed there are some issues. However regarding the stock icon, I'd say you've not replaced the ship properly.

Thank you for replying and offering help, aye it is a really strange error.
I see, about the ship icon, it does that when in its .py file i replace the original ships model and hardpoint file with the one from the Aftermath: Tales of the Dominion mod . Yet when I change the model back to the original, and the correct icon appears, so this might be why it does that. How can i replace a ship 100% correctly?

Offline Mario

  • Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2186
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2012, 01:28:25 PM »
DS9FX Ships can be replaced by editing the DS9FXShips.py file located in scripts\Custom\DS9FX\DS9FXLib directory.

Code: [Select]
# Ship py files

Asteroid="DS9FXAsteroid"
Akira = "DS9FXAkira"
BirdOfPrey = "DS9FXBirdOfPrey"
BorgCube = "DS9FXBorgCube"
BorgDetector = "DS9FXBorgDetector"
BorgSphere = "DS9FXBorgSphere"
BorgTacticalCube = "DS9FXBorgTacticalCube"
Bugship = "DS9FXDominionFighter"
Centaur = "DS9FXCentaur"
Comet = "DS9FXComet"
Cone = "WormholeCone"
Cone2 = "WormholeCone2"
Cone3 = "WormholeConeVar1_1"
Cone4 = "WormholeConeVar1_2"
Cone5 = "WormholeConeVar2_1"
Cone6 = "WormholeConeVar2_2"
Cone7 = "WormholeConeVar3_1"
Cone8 = "WormholeConeVar3_2"
Cone9 = "WormholeConeVar4_1"
Cone10 = "WormholeConeVar4_2"
Cone11 = "WormholeConeVar5_1"
Cone12 = "WormholeConeVar5_2"
Cone13 = "WormholeConeVar5_3"
Danube1 = "DS9FXDanubemkI"
Danube2 = "DS9FXDanubemkII"
Defiant = "DS9FXDefiant"
Distortion = "Distortion"
DomBC = "DS9FXDominionBC"
DS9 = "DS9FXDeepSpace9"
Dummy = "DS9FXDummy"
FedStarbase = "FedStarbase" # TODO: Obtain permissions for some more better looking starbase instead of using the stock one
Excalibur = "DS9FXExcalibur"
Excelsior = "DS9FXExcelsior"
Galaxy = "DS9FXGalaxy"
Galor = "DS9FXGalor"
Hideki = "DS9FXHideki"
Hutet = "DS9FXHutet"
Keldon = "DS9FXKeldon"
Ktinga = "DS9FXD7Ktinga"
Lakota = "DS9FXLakota"
Mine = "DS9FXMine"
Miranda = "DS9FXMiranda"
MissionStation = "DS9FXMissionStation"
Nebula = "DS9FXNebula"
Neghvar = "DS9FXNeghvar"
Peregrine = "DS9FXPeragrine"
Sovereign = "DS9FXSovereign"
Vorcha = "DS9FXVorcha"
Vortex = "DS9FXVortex"
Vortex2 = "DS9FXVortex2"
Vortex3 = "DS9FXVortex3"
Vortex4 = "DS9FXVortex4"
Warbird = "DS9FXWarbird"
Wormhole = "Wormhole"
Wormhole2 = "Wormhole2"
Wormhole3 = "Wormhole3"
Wormhole4 = "Wormhole4"
Wormhole5 = "Wormhole5"
Wormhole6 = "Wormhole6"
Wormhole7 = "Wormhole7"
Wormhole8 = "Wormhole8"

Editing
Code: [Select]
Excelsior = "DS9FXExcelsior"
to
Code: [Select]
Excelsior = "Excelsior"
would point it to a ship script file called Excelsior.

Note that this procedure replaces ships used in DS9FX missions.

If you want to completely replace a ship, there are a lot of threads around here which explain the procedure (I think).
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline Defiant

  • Posts: 398
  • Cookies: 1105
    • BC: Kobayashi Maru
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2012, 03:08:56 PM »
I thought this file is not used anymore?

-

Which version of KM is this?

-

I wouldn't rule out that the ship is correctly configured in aftermath..

Offline Mario

  • Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2186
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2012, 03:20:37 PM »
If you're talking about DS9FXShips.py (from DS9FXLib), this is used internally by DS9FX Xtended in missions Defiant. It was put there for easy customization of ships used in missions.
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline Defiant

  • Posts: 398
  • Cookies: 1105
    • BC: Kobayashi Maru
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2012, 03:35:40 PM »
aah now I know while I was confused. KM has two DS9FXShips.py:
scripts/Custom/DS9FX/DS9FXShips.py
and
scripts/Custom/DS9FX/DS9FXLib/DS9FXShips.py

only the first one seem to be used. The latter is probably from an old DS9fx version?

Offline Mario

  • Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2186
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2012, 03:37:17 PM »
It's your initial override from v3.0 which is not used.

Edit:
scripts/Custom/DS9FX/DS9FXLib/DS9FXShips.py is in use.
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline zgok

  • Posts: 90
  • Cookies: 3
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2012, 03:39:29 AM »
It's your initial override from v3.0 which is not used.

Edit:
scripts/Custom/DS9FX/DS9FXLib/DS9FXShips.py is in use.

Thank you that seemed to fix the ship icon problem and now i have the Aftermath Jem'hadar Attack ship being used in DS9 effects missions, although i still have both the original, and Aftermath Jem'hadar attack ship, which isnt too bad because the KM one has its own charm in a way, even though the Aftermath one looks much more canon, hmm gives me the idea of making the KM one a prototype, while the Aftermath one is the regular mass produced Jem'hadar Attack ship.  Thanks again, and from what i read so far, the new DS9fx is looking splendid!

One thing, i dont mean to be pushy, but do you have an idea of what might be causing the warp bug?

Offline Mario

  • Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2186
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2012, 12:36:00 PM »
Galaxy Charts.
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline zgok

  • Posts: 90
  • Cookies: 3
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2012, 01:59:00 PM »
Thanks, should i reinstall it, or can i fix it by editing a certain file?

Offline Mario

  • Senior Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2186
  • Cookies: 1706
  • Life is life
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2012, 02:08:22 PM »
As I said in my initial post USS Frontier couldn't find the cause of the problem and used to tell people to ignore the "error". I'm not going to debug this.
Acta, non verba.
aka USS Sovereign

Offline zgok

  • Posts: 90
  • Cookies: 3
Re: Host of DS9fx problems
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2012, 11:50:35 PM »
Alright, well thank you so much for all your help.