Author Topic: Please help with some basic editing questions.  (Read 1062 times)

Offline ddriscoll90

• Cookies: 0
Please help with some basic editing questions.
« on: June 08, 2013, 09:56:41 PM »
I am not new to BC but I am new to modding it. So far i have successfully downloaded and installed all the ships from all the different star trek eras I could ever want. The only problem is, they balancing between the ships is so far out of whack it isn't funny. I have TOS ships knocking down Sovereigns like flies and I really need to switch everything around. I remember when I was messing around with Star Trek Armada 2, editing things like a certain ship's sheilds, weapon strength, ect. was fairly easy. Is there a similar way to do this in BC? Whether it is similar or not can someone please explain to me how to edit a certain ships in-game stats? I do not need to modify the 3D models or textures at all just the in game values like sheild strength and such.

Offline moed

• Cookies: 57
  • Star Trekus Fanaticus
Re: Please help with some basic editing questions.
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2013, 01:04:31 AM »
Unfortunately, it takes A LOT of time to balance all the ships you've most likely got. Why? Because there's never really been a "standard" for balancing any type of mod (such as ships, stations, etc), ever established by any of the many modders out there since the inception of modding for BC. 

I can't tell you how many ships I have individually modded the HP's (Hard Points) for to be as balanced as possible to each other and to the era.  I have a folder with over 100+ ship mods that I haven't even installed yet still waiting to be tweaked just the way I want them... trouble is, as I said, it takes a lot of time and I haven't had much of that luxury for quite a while.  I'm lucky if I can do maybe 2 in a month.  So, it's a never ending project  :hithead:

Welcome to modded BC.  You have some good work ahead of you.  My advice, patience brother  :)

Offline baz1701